Metamorphosis.

 

Read.

Listen.

Understand. And love.

We’re here. And we care.

***

Fat shaming is real. It happens. And we’ve all been involved in it one way or another. Be it as the victim, perpetrator or just a bystander. We’ve been there.

“I’ve been battling obesity since the 6th grade.  Failure in academics just made it worse. Eating my troubles away kind of became my thing. All kinds of junk food, aerated drinks, no physical activity whatsoever.

All I did everyday was watch TV and whine about how life sucked.  Before I knew it, I was this huge meatball weighing 93 KGS.

Almost overnight, the name-calling started. Loser, Obese kid, Fatso, Pumpkin and so on. It was embarrassing. I won’t lie. At one point, I just didn’t care. I told myself, “People who are going to hate and cuss, are just going to. There was nothing you could do about it.”

Later on, it got worse. I couldn’t bend properly. Couldn’t find clothes that would fit me and at times, I convinced myself that people automatically took me for a loser.

Most of my friends were either fit or at least close to it and I’d be the one who’d pant after walking up just a few flights of stairs. I’d watch movies and be like “Damn, look at him, so fit. I’m going to work out and change myself!”, and I’d get up and try doing a push up and fail terribly.

Life went on. Relatives started warning my folks about how bad my health was. Doctors would tell me that my weight wasn’t good for a guy my age. Even my friends would tell me to start working out.

And honestly, I tried.

I joined a gym. After 20 minutes of working out I would get exhausted and leave.  I would go home and follow my prescribed diet for a day or two. It’d be so hard that I’d give up and get back to my old routine. The cycle would start once again.

At one point, I gave up. I accepted the fact that I couldn’t lose weight.

I moved to Pune for higher studies. It wasn’t very different there either.

It went on like this until one day, while browsing through my Facebook page, I happened to see a picture of an old classmate. He was like me. Obese and a bit more on the heavier side. But, to my surprise, he had changed considerably. This guy had lost a butt load of weight and seemed happy and fit.

That was my Eureka moment. If this guy, who was just like me, he could lose so much weight, then why couldn’t I? That day, I promised myself that come December, I’d lose at least 10 Kgs.

I joined the gym one last time and maintained my diet. Whenever I would lose hope, I remembered my friend. I had only 4 months. I skipped junk food and aerated drinks. I’d wake up at 7 in the morning and go to the gym no matter what.

During this entire process, almost every person in my social circle mocked me. I would ask them to “Wait and watch” and all they would do was laugh. But, this time, their laughter didn’t really bother me. It just made me work harder. Days passed and I couldn’t see any change. It hurt, because I was working really really hard. I deserved something, right?

I was close to giving up, but somehow, I kept going.

December came and I went shopping.  Boy was I shocked when I found out that XXL didn’t fit me anymore. The joy was surreal. I took an XL tee and ran to the trial room, put it on and watched myself in amazement. I had done it.

Later on, I checked and found out that I had lost 12 Kgs. It was great. The feeling of achievement.

After that, there was no stopping me. I wanted to do even more. So after my vacations, I worked even harder.

I set a mark and worked hard to achieve it.

Now two years later and 35 Kgs lighter, I’m a happy man.

To those who feel the same, trust me, people are going to berate you, mock you and demean you. There is nothing wrong with you. Take it as a challenge, get up and prove them wrong. The results are slow, but one day, you’ll look back and it’ll all be worth it.”

-Allister Martins.

Author: Aitijya Sarkar

You know that bright little star next to the moon? The one you've never really noticed for some reason. That's me.

7 thoughts on “Metamorphosis.”

  1. This is one of the most inspiring things I’ve read in a while. I’m all too familiar with the vicious cycle of eating-namecalling-depression-binging. And this seriously makes me want to finally get up of my arse and take charge of my life. Thank you, stay motivated.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great Job Allister! Sometimes we need to see to believe. I wonder who was the classmate 🙂
    All the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

