Home.

Home

Read.

Listen.

Understand. And love.

We’re here. And we care.

*****

“Home.

What is it? Does it define us? Is it really important?

I’ve been plagued by these questions for some time now.

My story started in Kolkata, West Bengal. I was born and brought up here. All my firsts, starting from learning to talk, learning to stand, learning to write, learning to understand the world and its people, every first started here. This place, out of thousand other places became the reason for my existence.

How could a place so small become so important? The point of this post is to find an answer to that.

When I started thinking about this question, one recurring answer came to mind, my family. This place does have something that no other place in this world has, my family. It is my family that roots me to this place. My brother says “You never give up on your family.” Indeed! What I have learnt is that when everything else ends, it is our family that stays. Family never leaves, never judges and never hates. It has always been the only static in my life.

I believe everything is built on a foundation. A tree will not survive the storm if it did not have strong, firm roots to hold it still. A building will not survive gravity unless it has those iron rods to give it foundation. A relationship will not mature if it did not have the foundation of love, mutual respect and trust. An artist can never dream and create if he does not have the foundation of his imagination.

Foundation.

Family gives foundation. The courage to fight the world, to stand up for yourself, to chase your dreams, to learn to feel, to learn to love, to learn to trust, to learn to laugh, to learn to share pain. The basis for your existence becomes your family. The air to give flight to the wild creature buried deep inside your heart. It becomes the roots for one’s tree of life to expand and branch out.

It is a family that makes a building made of bricks, a home. A place to go back to when all else fails. A place to run and to hide.

A home.”

*****

– Aishwariya Sarkar

Author: Aitijya Sarkar

You know that bright little star next to the moon? The one you've never really noticed for some reason. That's me.

13 thoughts on “Home.”

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you Aishwariya.

    This is what I strive to give to my daughter – a strong faith in me and my husband that come what may we will be there for her. This is where I also struggle a bit as at times I question myself ( especially when I am having a bad day) if I am doing the right thing? Will my child see my (and my husband’s) arms as the place to run to hide when she faces troubles in life.

    Lovely post. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi,
      I completely understand you. But I want to tell you something. Something I learnt from my parents. Being a parent is important. Being all strict when you need to be is all right. But first and foremost, you should be their friends. I remember in high school or throughout my college, I always came home or called my parents, to share my insecurities or just to tell them how things are. I never expected them to understand. I just wanted to include them. By God’s grace I have been blessed with an wonderful family. They have been through my worst and my best. They have never judged me. They have told me that I am taking the wrong path in life. But they still let me explore it. It has helped me develop as a whole some individual. I have taken a hell lot of lessons from the mistakes I have made. And then I have moved on.
      I have tried to run too. Because we all know running is easy. But always in the end I found myself wanting to be close to my family. That’s when I really understood that everything starts and ends here.
      And that family is everything.
      There were times when I hated my mom for not letting me go out at night or this one time to a concert or when she scolded me for not doing my homework or when I read too many story books before my exams. Much later I understood that she did all that for my own good. You just can’t do without your parents.
      Being a daughter myself, I can tell you your daughter understands that. So just hang in there. Everything will be okay.
      Thank you so much for reading my post. I am glad, so glad you liked it.
      Love,
      Aishwariya

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And I loved your response to my reply. Thank you so much.

        I am pleased to hear you have a loving and supportive family. My best wishes to you and your family. Stay blessed forever just like that.

        I really want to be my daughter’s best friend. I am not too bothered if she doesnt share day to day stuff much with me but what I wont be able to take is , if at any point in her life she has troubles/sorrows (hope never) and if at that point she doesnt feel comfortable in confiding it with me. I really want her to know I love her to bits and I want to be that person in her life that she can always come up to when she needs to.

        Thanks again for a lovely post and even more lovely response to my comment.

        Cheers
        Truly Happy

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi,
          Sorry for taking so long getting back. I don’t know how but yet again I managed to mess up my life. Was busy reordering things and priorities.
          I understand your insecurities. But as I have said before, we, children know. You can never run from your family. That’s the place where your story started.
          Even if you run, life has a way of bringing you back to where you belong.
          Thank you so much for writing back to me so heartily. Wishing you all the best.
          Take care.
          Love.
          Aishwariya

          Like

  2. This is so beautifully done. Aishwarya’s post and her response to Pia’s comment. I agree completely. I can even go further to say that if my 3 are around I don’t need anybody else for company or entertainment. It does not matter if I don’t have friends to or I don’t talk to people at times, I have 3 people I open up to, share and discuss without fearing judgements or inhibitions all the time. What that has given (I think) to both my sibling and me is a security of relations and a secure selves. Once again very well put Aishwarya.

    Like

    1. I completely agree with you. I know there are so many people in this world. But it’s those people, the people who have been through our worst and best that we always tend to go to. The people who will not cringe to give us the truth. You might not talk to them everyday, but when you do, it’s like you guys never stopped talking.
      That kind of friendship or relationship brings you peace and security.
      Thank you so much for you comment. I am glad you like it.
      Lastly, I’m sorry for taking so long getting back.
      Hope you’re doing good. Take care. Love.
      Aishwariya

      Like

    1. Hey,
      I completely agree with you. You know how most of the things in this world is transient. Yet now and then you are given some precious things or moments that are worth holding on to. Family is one of those things to me.
      Thank you so much for taking your time and reading my post.
      Hope you are doing good. Take care. Love.
      Aishwariya

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

