Flashback.

You tell me it’s going to work out this time. Me, the love struck kid nods in affirmation. The phone is still left unanswered.

Read.

Listen.

Understand. And love.

We’re here. And we care.

*****

Year: 1

Flashback: August 2012

I am this Eighteen year old girl in the new city of Bangalore. Thrill and enthusiasm consumes me. I meet him for the first time. Followed by our first movie night and all those things that make your knees weak.

Year: 2

Flashback: June 2013

You don’t return my calls. My messages. I don’t remember the last time I saw your face. You send me a quick text. It’s not working. Let’s break up.

At least I deserved a call.

Basic decency.

Year: 3

Flashback: January 2014

You tell me it’s going to work out this time. Me, the love struck kid nods in affirmation. The phone is still left unanswered. Déjà vu, I console myself.

Year: 4

Flashback: February 2016

Happy Birthday 🙂

The unsaved number looks familiar. I manage a decent thank you. It’s been so long I tell myself. The circle is complete, we are friends again.

Present: 30 July 2016

You tell me I am the love of your life. These words can drool any girl. This time you manage a call. But frankly my dear, I am a little exasperated. A part of me will always love you. But now that I look from far away, it was simply the matter of a decision.

In your absence my life bloomed.

Weed less.

Can you see me?

Because from here I cannot see you.

*****

-Anmol Mathur

Author: Aitijya Sarkar

You know that bright little star next to the moon? The one you've never really noticed for some reason. That's me.

1 thought on “Flashback.”

Leave a Reply

